Sounds of silence . . .

IN Capileira, during summer months, flags come out and hand-woven banners are strung above alleys and pinned to walls. Midday arrives, and no one walks the streets except people with cameras. Capileira is Spain’s second-highest village – but that doesn’t render the air any cooler. Perhaps, because it’s closer to the sun, it’s slightly hotter . . .

Locked doors are barriers against the August heat. White walls reflect the sun’s rays and send them back into space to warm the moon. Water flows from wells to quench the thirst of travellers and the occasional animal, some of which are so desperately thirsty they have turned to straw and bits of wood.

Washing hangs among the flags and bunting; sometimes it’s hard to differentiate between them. At one o’clock the church clock strikes once. That’ not normal for church clocks in Spain, England or anywhere for that matter.

In neighbouring Pampaneira, nothing can be heard in Calle Silencio, the street of silence. Even dogs are quiet; and they regard visitors with disapproval if their cameras click or their flip-flops flip flop.

In front of the barred doors of the church, two children play silently with a hula-hoop. Their spinning halo captures the crosstrees of the door in its frame. This pleases god, because at this precise moment an attentive waiter brings me a frosted bottle of sparkling mineral water and a glass crammed with ice and sliced lemon. Things like that happen in Spain. God makes them happen because he hasn’t got anything important to do these days.

Actually, things like that happen everywhere. It’s just that in the silence, while sitting in the shade as the Earth revolves unhurriedly, you tend to notice them more.

16 thoughts on “Sounds of silence . . .

  1. Thanks for that Alen.
    Your pictures have me hankering after another trip to the Alpujarras. Stayed in Pampaneira once for a few nights and explored the valley northwards. Those three villages are magic once the tour buses have departed. The narrow cobbled streets and flat roofs with the squat chimneys, buildings at one with the hillsides. At dusk with smoke drifting into the mountains it was almost like being in Nepal,

    “In restless dreams I walked alone
    Narrow streets of cobblestone”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi John. I think those villages are absolutely wonderful. At one time we talked about settling up there – but the weather does get a bit rough in winter. Still, it’s nice to visit them once in a while, especially in the different seasons. The valley north is a pleasure to explore, and I’ve ventured into it two or three times. Come autumn I will be back there for some serious walking, I hope. If you ever do come back, drop me a line first.
      All the best, Alen

      Like

  2. Nice post Alen, redolent of heat and siestas. I’m off to the homeland on Monday so I doubt there will be many siestas taken in Glasgow! 🙂

    Like

  3. I keep seeing these mountain villages in Google satellite images and wonder who lives here. They’re so far away from ‘everything,’ these towns must be self-sufficient in terms of shops and plumbers and car mechanics. Or do people drive 50km for a pint of milk?

    Still, it all looks ideal.

    Like

    1. Just about self-sufficient, I’d say, Chris. Plenty of bars and eating places; each village has a mini-supermarket tucked down an alley; and at least one of the three villages in this area has a bank. Most Spanish villages are autonomous, with their own town halls running local services.
      In my own little town of Orgiva (population 6,000), there are four banks, two large supermarkets and two smaller ones, the equivalent of a magistrates’ court, loads of little shops, a hospital, social security office, tax office, and probably other services I haven’t discovered yet. I can’t help thinking that, somewhere along the line, people in Britain – especially in rural communities – have been short-changed and taken for a ride.
      Cheers, Alen

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Alen, what’s the reason for the bunting? I was in that area earlier this year – fantastic region. It was winter, there was plenty of snow on the tops, but still pretty hot. Definitely no bunting though. Love the chimney that seems to have been yarn bombed! Cheers, Paul

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Paul. Blimey, I didn’t know you’d been in this area. Did you do a post? If so I missed it.
      I don’t know the reason for the bunting, probably a local fiesta. There’s a fiesta this week, a national holiday I think, so it might be related to that.
      Cheers, Alen

      Like

      1. There’s always a fiesta happening somewhere – one of the reasons I enjoy visiting Spain. We only visited briefly, a side trip from Granada, but planning to come back and do some walking – I reckon a few days in one of those villages would be good for body and soul.

        Like

  5. The heat sounds exhausting, Alen, even a bit eerie! I have been wondering how your summer has been, while ours is already turning to autumn (or so it feels). I hope you’re getting a bit of relief from it by now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jo. It’s been hot and dry, up to more than 40C on three or four occasions, but it should start dropping down in a fortnight or so – and then I intend to get out walking. Too hot at the moment. I do miss a good British wet and miserable summer’s day, but I know you’ve had more than a few of them so I can’t complain too much!
      Cheers, Alen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment