Poppies from the past

shed 1I HAVE resumed my flirtations with not-so-fine art – an interest I suspended temporarily in 1973 when faced with a future in shipbuilding rather than a preferred path to art college and enlightenment. Enforced retirement has provided opportunities to grab the frayed strands of former pastimes, and to tug them gently to see where they lead – if anywhere. Though I daresay my place at Preston art college has long been filled by someone else with a bad haircut . . .

Forty-three years after laying down my pencil I’m still chewing over events with residual anger. Would LS Lowry or David Hockney have walked so meekly through those shipyard gates to embrace the inevitability of caustic welding fumes and thundering caulking hammers without rebelling? I don’t suppose so.

But things were different back in the summer of 1973 – the certainty of full-time employment; British industry at the forefront; pride in a trade; jobs for life; a fertile country where kitchen-sink filmmakers, poets, novelists, journalists, politicians, commentators, artists and pop stars sprouted organically from the earth and the cracks in pavements. Britain was brave and brash.

Strange how life hands out the coloured crayons. Forty-three years later and I’m back at the start, drawing pictures of leaves and flowers. Is this progression or a disturbing lack of it? Did those Mesolithic cave painters take forty-three years to develop their stylised bison and antelope? Probably not.

shed 2 shed 3 shed 4 shed 5 shed 6 shed 7 shed 8So, tugging at those frayed strands I end up at an art class in Orgiva run by a lady from Bentham called Pernilla. The classes are great because we all get filthy with paint and ink and have a really good time. It’s like being back at junior school, only without the sago pudding and blood oranges.

But the best bit about this long-belated journey of rediscovery is spending happy half hours rummaging through the shelves of the Chinese and Moroccan bazaars found on every high street in this part of Spain, because they all stock a varied and fantastically inexpensive selection of artists’ materials.

shed 9 shed 10 shed 11I intend to paint some remembered images, like those pitmen painters from Ashington and Spennymoor painted back in the 1930s and 1940s – glum wet streets, steamy chip shops, whippet races, stark pit heaps and dark men shuffling through tunnels. Might paint some Spanish mountains. Might get into hypnotic regression and paint some Mesolithic bison. Just so long as the cycle doesn’t start again and I end up back in that bloody shipyard.

Unfinished sketch of Victoria Street, Askam-in-Furness. Appropriately, Victoria Street itself remains unfinished
Unfinished sketch of Victoria Street, Askam-in-Furness. Appropriately, Victoria Street itself remains unfinished
20 thoughts on “Poppies from the past

  1. I like ’em. I especially like the picture of Victoria Street. (In fact, I really really like that picture. You should do more of them.)

    I suppose you’re in the perfect situation now to return to art, what with the light, the time on your side, all that food left outside drying, what’s a man to do? You’ve no lawnmower to service, might as well get out the ink bottles and mooch around bazaars. Are you going to start wearing one of those artist’s smocks now?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the idea of the smock, Chris, and perhaps one of those straw hats with a wide brim. Not cutting a lug off, though.
      Life after work is still a learning process. What’s interesting about this art class is we learn a new technique every week. Last Friday we were blowing paint bubbles onto paper. You look at the result and think: I saw some wallpaper like that once and now I know how they achieved the effect. So I might go into wallpaper design. Could end up with George Osborne. The possibilities are endless. Blimey. Doors opening everywhere.
      Cheers, Alen

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those poppies are great and the colours in the picture of leaves are really vibrant; I have a print of a Matisse above my desk and your colours are very similar! And I too love the Victoria Street sketch. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey, Alen, those are good! You’ve been hiding that talent for a while. There’s a time for everything, I think – sometimes you have to do stuff first, before it happens. Feeling like you want to, rather than you ought to, is a big part as well. Have fun with it! 🙂

    Like

  4. Those are lovely. I have to say I used to draw horses all the time (and other animals sometimes) and was quite good if I say so myself. I hope I take that back up again when I finally retire (if they ever let me)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

